Commun. Comput. Phys., 12 (2012), pp. 834-865.


Parallel Algorithms and Software for Nuclear, Energy, and Environmental Applications. Part II: Multiphysics Software

Derek Gaston 1, Luanjing Guo 2, Glen Hansen 3*, Hai Huang 2, Richard Johnson 1, Dana Knoll 4, Chris Newman 4, Hyeong Kae Park 4, Robert Podgorney 2, Michael Tonks 1, Richard Williamson 1

1 Nuclear Science and Technology, Idaho National Laboratory, Idaho Falls, ID 83415, USA.
2 Energy and Environment Science and Technology, Idaho National Laboratory, Idaho Falls, ID 83415, USA.
3 Multiphysics Simulation Technologies Dept. (1444), Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, NM 87185, USA.
4 Fluid Dynamics and Solid Mechanics Group (T-3), Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, NM 87545, USA.

Received 9 October 2010; Accepted (in revised version) 14 July 2011
Available online 1 March 2012
doi:10.4208/cicp.091010.150711s

Abstract

This paper is the second part of a two part sequence on multiphysics algorithms and software. The first [1] focused on the algorithms; this part treats the multiphysics software framework and applications based on it. Tight coupling is typically designed into the analysis application at inception, as such an application is strongly tied to a composite nonlinear solver that arrives at the final solution by treating all equations simultaneously. The application must also take care to minimize both time and space error between the physics, particularly if more than one mesh representation is needed in the solution process. This paper presents an application framework that was specifically designed to support tightly coupled multiphysics analysis. The Multiphysics Object Oriented Simulation Environment (MOOSE) is based on the Jacobian-free Newton-Krylov (JFNK) method combined with physics-based preconditioning to provide the underlying mathematical structure for applications. The report concludes with the presentation of a host of nuclear, energy, and environmental applications that demonstrate the efficacy of the approach and the utility of a well-designed multiphysics framework.

AMS subject classifications: 65M12, 65M60, 65Y05, 65Z05, 65H10
Key words: Multiphysics simulation, Jacobian-free Newton Krylov, finite element applications, physics-based preconditioning.

*Corresponding author.
Email: Derek.Gaston@inl.gov (D. Gaston), Luanjing.Guo@inl.gov (L. Guo), gahanse@sandia.gov (G. Hansen), Hai.Huang@inl.gov (H. Huang), Rich.Johnson@inl.gov (R. Johnson), nol@lanl.gov (D. Knoll), cnewman@lanl.gov (C. Newman), hkpark@lanl.gov (H. K. Park), Robert.Podgorney@inl.gov (R. Podgorney), Michael.Tonks@inl.gov (M. Tonks), Richard.Williamson@inl.gov (R. Williamson)
 

The Global Science Journal