Commun. Comput. Phys., 6 (2009), pp. 24-48.


Constructing Three-Phase Capillary Pressure Functions by Parameter Matching Using a Modified Ensemble Kalman Filter

Randi Holm 1*, Roland Kaufmann 1, Elisabeth Iren Dale 1, Sigurd Aanonsen 1, Gunnar E. Fladmark 1, Magne Espedal 1, Arne Skauge 1

1 Centre for Integrated Petroleum Research / University of Bergen, P.O. Box 7800, 5020 Bergen, Norway.

Received 11 November 2007; Accepted (in revised version) 15 July 2008
Available online 13 November 2008

Abstract

Usually extended two-phase capillary pressures are used in three-phase simulations, because three-phase capillary pressures are not possible or hard to measure. In this work three-phase capillary pressure surfaces are created by at pore network model. The input parameters to this network model are found by matching two-phase capillary pressure curves. This matching is done with a slightly modified EnKF routine. Tables with three-phase capillary pressures are created and used as input to flow simulations.

AMS subject classifications: 76T30, 37M05, 37N10, 35Q80, 60G35, 62M20, 62F15, 45Q05

Notice: Undefined variable: pac in /var/www/html/issue/abstract/readabs.php on line 164
Key words: Ensemble Kalman Filter (EnKF), three-phase porous media flow, capillary pressure, parameter matching.

*Corresponding author.
Email: Randi.Holm@math.uib.no (R. Holm), Roland.Kaufmann@cipr.uib.no (R. Kaufmann), elid@statoilhydro.com (E. I. Dale), Sigurd.Aanonsen@cipr.uib.no (S. Aanonsen), Gunnar.Fladmark@cipr.uib.no (G. E. Fladmark), Magne.Espedal@math.uib.no (M. Espedal), Arne.Skauge@cipr.uib.no (A. Skauge)
 

The Global Science Journal